Health Committees

There are several PWDCA committees that focus on the various aspects of the Portuguese Water Dog health. Detailed information about the health condition of focus by each of the committees is in the Health section of the web site.  Where available, information on the mission and function of the committees are provided in the links below.  Additional committee member contact information is listed in the Member Directory (members only).  

Chair / Committee Members
Allergy, Hairloss, & Dermatology

Chair: Paul del Campo Hartman (
Committee Members: Marietta Franzese and Kim Hanson


Chair: David E. Smith (
Committee Members: Mary Baum and Karen Kelly

CHIC Coordinator

Coordinator: Cynthia O'Connor, DVM DACT (

Endocrine (includes Addison’s
& Thyroid diseases)

Chair: Sherry Rady (
Committee Members: Jane Harding


Co-Chairs: Joan C. Bendure and Janet Boyd (
Committee Members: Cheryl Hoofnagle and Carol Mattingley

Gastrointestinal/IBD & Megaesophagus

Chair: Sharon Dudley-Brown (
Committee Members: Christine Framson and Ann Gaskell

GM1 Chair: Kathy Ferrandino (

Health & Litter Database Support

Chair: Jane McEwen (
Board Liaison: David E. Smith
Committee Member: Karen Kirby Ash

Health Information Coordinator

Coordinator: Elsa Sell (
Assistant: Betty Grotophorst and Ann Camp

Health Research Grant Coordinator

Coordinator: Cheryl Deguara (


Co-Chair: Carol Mattingley (
Co-Chair: Maryanne Murray (
Committee Members: Carolyn Iraggi and Erin Mayfield

Neonatal and Pediatric Health

Chair: Carol Mattingley (
Committee Members: Pat Hogan, Leslie McCracken and Janice Reilly


Chair: Angela Harding (
Committee Members:


Chair: Laurie Hardman (
Committee Members: Ann Gaskell and Julie Asbed



powered by MemberClicks